top of page

Two Local Fire Departments Celebrate Annual Award Night

The Peace River and County of Northern Lights Fire Departments held their annual awards night on December 10 in Peace River

Fire Chief Tim Harris presented nine awards to the members, and Patrick Connellan, President of the Peace River Firefighters Association presented the President’s Award.

“The awards represent and recognize the achievements the members have attained over the year,” said Chief Harris. “Whilst some awards such as the Attendance Award and Fit-to-Fight Award are based on performance numbers, other awards, such as the Firefighter of the Year and the Officer of the Year, are based on nominations from fellow firefighters who recognize the efforts of their peers.”

The 2022 Award Recipients are:

Attendance Award

Engineer Cheryl Rogers (Dixonville Fire Dept.)

Fit-to-Fight Award

Senior Firefighters Tim Berger (Weberville Fire Dept.) & Drew Keddie (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Junior Firefighter of the Year Award

Junior Firefighter Stephanie Amor (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Rookie of the Year Award

Firefighter Mark Owens (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Most Improved Firefighter Award

Engineer Dale Shewchuk (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Martin Cooper Award of Merit

Firefighter Kelly Laramore (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Lee Vickery Award for Firefighter of the Year

Senior Firefighter Jesse Kasouf (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Don Konkin Award for Officer of the Year

Captain Robin Differenz (Weberville Fire Dept.)

Fire Chief’s Award

Lieutenant Patrick Connellan (Peace River Fire Dept.)

President’s Award

Senior Firefighter Drew Keddie (Peace River Fire Dept.)

Service bars and pins for five years of service on the Fire Department were also presented to Senior Firefighter Tim Berger (Weberville), Chaplain Cornelio Esguerra (Peace River) and Firefighter Cameron Jackson (Dixonville).

The Town and County Departments are always seeking a few more members to join their ranks. If you are interested in learning new skills and serving your community, please contact

Chief Tim Harris at 780-624-2993 or

8 views0 comments


bottom of page